Weddings and Concerts

This last weekend was tiring but all together enjoyable.

I took Friday off to help my buddy Hector shoot his sisters wedding. I don’t think a wedding has ever had more photographic coverage. Besides Hector and I, we also had Hector’s business partner and our friend Steve and our buddy and excellent wedding photographer, John Mueller. It was great working with such good and varied photogs. Hector has such a modern and high-fashion approach, using strobes and posing the bride and groom, etc. Steve has a similar style too but often uses a landscape approach looking for wide angle shots and cool compositions. John is the master of the traditional natural light candid shot. If there is some natural light and fast lenses with wide apertures he is set! He has quite a bit of wedding experience and knows how to take charge, direct people and knows how to do it all with a friendly comedy that puts people at ease. It was a blast and a pleasure working with these talented gentleman.

On Saturday Monica and I went and hung out with my cousin Jim. We had some lunch than we went back to our house and played Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2, which Monica loves ;). Then we all watched the movie Get Him to the Greek. It was funny but to be honest Puff Daddy or P Diddy or whatever the hell Sean Combs calls himself these days stole the show. We also drank. I had a Chimay Red and a Unibroue Maudite! Both are excellent ale’s.

Sunday came and Monica was especially excited as we were traveling down to San Diego area, specifically La Jolla to see The Pixies. Monica’s brother and his wife also drove down for the show as he is a huge Pixies fan like Monica. We got there early and checked out the La Jolla shores/cliffs area. Very pretty and very cool. Lots of Sea Lions and Sea Kayakers too. I saw a guy illegally cliff dive which was kind of cool, though I do not condone it as it looked pretty sketchy. We left there and met up with Monica’s brother Alfred and his wife Jen to eat dinner before the show. Then we were off to the show and were very surprised to see that the opening act was an electronica duo calling themselves Fuck Buttons. I actually thought they were pretty good but a very strange opening act to say the least. Finally The Pixies came on and rocked. I am not a huge fan but they have a number of songs I quite like and they are a blast live!

Monday I had also taken the day off and basically took it easy. I hung out with my friend Hector and we went to see Resident Evil Afterlife 3D which was awful and yet entertaining! We then met up with his wife Nicole and had dinner and then went and grabbed a beer at The Prime Cut cafe in Orange. I had a Chimay Blue and Hector had a Leffe Blonde. We both took pictures but his is better. Lol. The HDR ability of the iPhone 4’s new OS is great for low light. I am quite happy with the camera on this little device!

I took very few iPhone photos this weekend regrettably but here is what I got…..

Monica at breakfast before going to see The Pixies.

Cool shot of the light show accompanying the opening band: Fuck Buttons.

I liked how the light hit these two people walking.

Finally The Pixies.

Ahhhh Chimay!

Hector’s shot came out better!

About iroamer

Avid photographer and all around cool dude who had a random idea to start a blog using his iPhone and it's camera only.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Weddings and Concerts

  1. LJF says:

    Sounds like good times! I feel the same way about The Pixies. I will have to check out Fuck Button. 😉

Leave a comment